The Dragonlance universe is a shared, high-fantasy setting created by Tracy Hickman and Margaret Weis for the Dungeons & Dragons role-playing game. First introduced in the 1980s, the Dragonlance setting quickly became popular due to its detailed world, memorable characters, and engaging novels.

Set primarily on the world of Krynn, the Dragonlance universe features a rich history filled with wars, magic, and gods. Krynn is divided into multiple continents, with Ansalon being the most well-known and extensively explored in the series. The inhabitants of Krynn include various races, such as humans, elves, dwarves, gnomes, kender, and the draconic creatures known as dragonborn.

Dragonlance’s history is divided into five main ages:

  1. Age of Starbirth: The creation of Krynn and its pantheon of gods, consisting of good, neutral, and evil deities.
  2. Age of Dreams: The rise of various civilizations, the emergence of magic, and the appearance of dragons.
  3. Age of Might: The establishment of the powerful Dragon Empire, ruled by the Dragon Highlords and their dragon allies.
  4. Age of Despair: Marked by the Cataclysm, a divine punishment that shattered the world, causing widespread suffering and chaos.
  5. Age of Mortals: The gods withdraw from Krynn, and mortals must learn to navigate a world without their direct influence.

The Dragonlance Chronicles, the original book series by Weis and Hickman, centers around a group of heroes known as the “Heroes of the Lance.” These adventurers become involved in the War of the Lance, a conflict between the forces of good and the evil Dragon Highlords. Some of the key characters include Tanis Half-Elven, Sturm Brightblade, Raistlin Majere, and his twin brother, Caramon Majere.

Over the years, the Dragonlance universe has expanded with numerous novels, short stories, and game supplements, providing fans with an ever-growing and evolving world to explore.