The Lioness

The Lioness

“The Lioness,” written by Nancy Varian Berberick, is a novel set in the Dragonlance universe and published in 2002 as part of the “Age of Mortals” series. It is the fourth book in the “The Barbarians” sub-series. Here’s a brief summary of the story:

In “The Lioness,” the story follows the journey of a fierce and strong-willed barbarian woman named Kelida, who hails from the Plains of Dust. Kelida is often referred to as “The Lioness” due to her courage, fighting prowess, and fiery spirit. After the murder of her parents and the destruction of her village by a mysterious enemy, Kelida sets out on a quest for vengeance and justice.

Along her journey, Kelida encounters various companions who join her cause, including a skilled and enigmatic elven archer named Shaiara and a wise healer named Mikal. Together, they form a close-knit group, bound by loyalty and the shared goal of defeating the evil that threatens their world.

Kelida’s path takes her through dangerous and uncharted territories, where she faces numerous challenges, including powerful enemies and harsh environments. As she struggles to avenge her family and protect her people, Kelida also discovers hidden truths about her own past, her connection to the gods of Krynn, and her destiny as a chosen warrior.

“The Lioness” explores themes of courage, loyalty, and the power of friendship, set against the backdrop of the richly-imagined world of Krynn. Nancy Varian Berberick crafts a compelling tale that delves into the lives and cultures of the barbarian tribes in the Dragonlance setting, providing readers with an engaging and action-packed story.

Detailed Information:

  • Publisher: TSR/Wizards of the Coast
  • Catalog #: 88606
  • ISBN: 0786927526
  • Type: Novel
  • Print Edition: 1st
  • Status: Available
  • Pub. Date: Aug 2002
  • Pages: 311
  • Timeline: 419 AC (36 SC