Dragons of Autumn Twilight

Dragons of Autumn Twilight

“Dragons of Autumn Twilight” is the first novel in the Dragonlance Chronicles trilogy, written by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman. Published in 1984, the book is set in the world of Krynn during the Age of Despair and introduces readers to a group of companions who reunite after five years apart, seeking to uncover the truth about the gods who have seemingly abandoned their world.

The story begins with the reunion of the companions in the small town of Solace, where they learn of an evil force that has taken control of a nearby fortress called Xak Tsaroth. The group, consisting of Tanis Half-Elven, Sturm Brightblade, Caramon Majere, Raistlin Majere, Flint Fireforge, Tasslehoff Burrfoot, and later joined by Goldmoon and Riverwind, embarks on a quest to recover the legendary Disks of Mishakal, which hold the key to restoring the balance of good and evil in the world.

As the companions journey deeper into the heart of darkness, they encounter various challenges and enemies, including draconians, an evil race created by the dark goddess Takhisis, and the fearsome Dragon Highlord Verminaard. Through their adventures, they discover that the gods of good have not abandoned Krynn; instead, they have sent the metallic dragons and the legendary Dragonlances to aid the heroes in their fight against the forces of darkness.

“Dragons of Autumn Twilight” sets the stage for the rest of the Dragonlance Chronicles, weaving a rich tapestry of characters, races, and magic in the world of Krynn. The novel explores themes such as friendship, loyalty, sacrifice, and the battle between good and evil, as the companions struggle to save their world from the brink of destruction.

rilous quest for…

the legendary Dragonlance.

Detailed Information:

  • Publisher: TSR/Wizards of the Coast
  • Catalog #: 8300
  • ISBN: 0880381736
  • Type: Novel
  • Print Edition: 1st
  • Status: Out of Print
  • Pub. Date: Nov 1984
  • Pages: 447
  • Timeline: 351 AC