The Second Generation

The Second Generation

“The Second Generation” is a collection of five novellas in the Dragonlance series, written by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman. Published in 1994, this anthology explores the lives and adventures of the children of the original heroes from the Dragonlance Chronicles trilogy. The stories are set in the world of Krynn, years after the conclusion of the Chronicles trilogy, and serve as a bridge to the next major series, the Dragons of a New Age trilogy.

The anthology consists of the following novellas:

  1. “Kitiara’s Son” – This story follows the life of Steel Brightblade, the son of the Dragon Highlord Kitiara and Sturm Brightblade. Raised by his mother’s followers, Steel struggles with his mixed heritage and conflicting loyalties as he is torn between the legacy of his heroic father and his villainous mother.
  2. “The Legacy” – The tale of Palin Majere, the youngest son of Caramon and Tika Majere, who is burdened by the shadow of his powerful uncle Raistlin Majere. Palin’s quest for knowledge and power leads him to face the ultimate test when he is confronted with his uncle’s dark legacy.
  3. “Wanna Bet?” – The story of Tanin and Sturm Majere, Caramon and Tika’s elder twin sons, who become embroiled in a dangerous bet with a mysterious stranger. The wager takes them on a perilous journey where they must rely on their wits and their courage to survive.
  4. “Raistlin’s Daughter” – This tale explores the life of Dezra Majere, who claims to be the daughter of the legendary mage Raistlin Majere. As Dezra seeks the truth about her parentage, she discovers a dangerous secret that could change the fate of Krynn.
  5. “The Son of the Swords” – The story of the half-elf Gilthas, the son of Tanis Half-Elven and the elven princess Laurana. As Gilthas grapples with his mixed heritage, he is called upon to unite his divided people and lead them against a rising evil.

“The Second Generation” delves into the lives and adventures of the children of the original Dragonlance heroes, as they struggle with their own destinies and the legacies left by their parents. The anthology explores themes such as family, identity, and the eternal battle between good and evil, while setting the stage for the next chapter in the Dragonlance saga.

Detailed Information:

  • Publisher: TSR/Wizards of the Coast
  • Catalog #: TSR8358
  • ISBN: 1560768223
  • Type: Hardcover
  • Print Edition: 1st
  • Status: Out of Print
  • Pub. Date: Feb 1994
  • Pages: 306
  • Timeline: 378 AC